Spring Certification path

Understand clearly which are the four existing different Spring Certifications.

Spring certification path

As you can see from the image below, there are four Spring certifications (the Hibernate with Spring is not currently available). There are no specific requirements regarding the certification you want to take first, but in most cases Spring Core Professional is the first choice. You can then go down the path of the Spring Enterprise Integration certification or the Spring Web Application Developer.

spring certification path

Spring Core Professional

This exam will test your knowledge of the Spring Framework to develop Java applications.
You will be asked to show your familiarity with Spring dependency injection, XML and Java configuration, transaction, JPA and Hybernate support,aspect-oriented programming (AOP), Spring Security, and Spring management with the JMX API.

Spring Web Application Developer

In this exam you should be able to show your understanding of Spring and associated technologies for Web development and be able to use the Spring framework for developing web applications, use Spring Web Flow to implement stateful interactions, test Web applications for correctness and performance, create rich Web user interfaces with Ajax and JQuery, use Spring Roo to create a Spring Web application in minutes and use the VMware® SpringSource® Tool Suite and Spring Insight

Enterprise Integration Specialist

The aim of this exam is to test if you are able to use Spring to create concurrent applications and schedule tasks, to use remoting to implement client-server application, to use Spring integration to create event-driven pipes-and-filters architectures and integrate with external applications, and finally to use Spring Batch for managed, scalable batch processing that is based on both custom and built-in processing components